Books Published In the 1930s

Have you wondered what books were published in the 1930s?

These lists are always fun to put together because the books published in a certain year or decade tell a lot about the culture during the time they were published.

Grapes of Wrath Family Book Club

It would be almost impossible to list all the books published in the 1930s, so I am just highlighting some of the more popular books, the books that have become classics, and the books that you might remember from your childhood.

One of the things that I noticed about the 1930s is that it was the decade for mysteries that are still loved today. Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, and Ellery Queen all wrote multiple books in the 1930s.

L.M. Montgomery, Laura Ingalls Wilder, and J.R.R. Tolkien also all published books in the 1930s.

Books Published In the 1930s

A list of books that were published in the 1930s.

Books Published In 1930

  • Strong Poison by Dorothy L Sayers ( Lord Peter Wimsey series)
  • The French Powder Mystery by Ellery Queen
  • The Affair at the Bungalow by Agatha Christie ( Miss Marple Mysteries)
  • The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett
  • The Little Engine That Could by Watty Piper

Books Published In 1931

  • The Five Red Herrings by Dorothy L Sayers (Lord Peter Wimsey series)
  • The Dutch Shoe Mystery by Ellery Queen
  • Endurance by Frank A. Worsley
Little House in the Big Woods book

Books Published in 1932

  • Have His Carcase by Dorothy L. Sayers ( Lord Peter Wimsey series)
  • Little House In the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • The Greek Coffin Mystery by Ellery Queen
Testament of Youth book review

Books Published in 1933

  • Murder Must Advertise by Dorothy L. Sayers ( Lord Peter Wimsey series)
  • The Mother by Pearl S. Buck
  • High Rising by Angela Thirkell
  • Testament of Youth by Vera Brittain
Murder On the Orient Express book review

Books Published in 1934

  • Murder On the Orient Express by Agatha Christie
  • Right Ho, Jeeves by P.D. Wodehouse
  • The Nine Taylors by Dorothy L. Sayers ( Lord Peter Wimsey series)
  • The Case of the Lucky Legs by Erle Stanley Gardner ( Perry Mason series)
  • Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers
Gaudy Nights book by Dorothy L. Sayers

Books Published in 1935

  • Gaudy Nights by Dorothy L. Sayers ( Lord Peter Wimsey series)
  • Little House On the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • Kit Carson Autobiography by Kit Carson
  • My Inventions: The Autobiography of Nikola Tesla by Nikola Tesla
  • The Young Clementina by D.E. Stevenson

Books Published in 1936

  • How To Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie
  • Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  • Anne of Windy Poplars by L.M. Montgomery ( Anne of Green Gables book 4)

Books Published in 1937

  • The Proud Heart by Pearl S. Buck
  • The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer
  • Death On the Nile by Agatha Christie
  • The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien
  • Their Eyes Are Watching God by Zora Neale Hurtson
  • Jane of Lantern Hill by L.M. Montgomery
Homing Book by Grace Livingston Hill

Books Published in 1938

  • The Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway by Ernest Hemingway
  • Address Unknown by Katherine Kressmann Taylor
  • Homing by Grace Livingston Hill
The Grapes of Wrath book cover

Books Published in 1939

  • Anne of Ingleside by L.M. Montgomery
  • Pursuit by Georgette Heyer
  • Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer by Rober Lewis May
  • The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

Other Books By the Decade

Leave a Comment